Visit main site

Keath Mead - Sunday Dinner


Feb 24th, 2015

Keath Mead would like to invite you to Sunday Dinner. The 25-year-old South Carolina native’s debut album is as pleasurable as a drive along the coast, as comforting as a day out with friends, and as sweet as pie after lunch. Steeped in the classic sounds of ‘60s and ‘70s pop singer-songwriters, Mead is just as influenced by contemporary artists such as The Shins’ James Mercer and Jack White. “Waiting” opens the record with a warm bed of synths and Mead sings, “One day you’re gonna land/ in a place that you never planned/ in your life to see.” An optimistic song about potential? Maybe. But it’s definitely a song about regret. Mead has that timeless ability to make songs that seem to say one thing, but move us to feel many things. With Sunday Dinner, Mead aspired to achieve a songwriting ideal: “If a song doesn’t hold up with one person singing and playing a single instrument, then it’s probably not that good of a song,” he says.

The album was recorded in only eight days—over the span of nine months—with the help of Chaz Bundick (Toro Y Moi, Les Sins). Bundick hosted Mead in his Berkeley, Calif., home studio for the recording. Mead’s guitar and vocal tracks came first, then Bundick on bass, before the pair took turns on drums and synthesizers. The collaborative process lent an improvisational aspect to the album, with the pair playing music until they found a passage they both liked. The live playing and “happy accidents” of the recording process add to the easy-going vibe of the LP.

Though recording the album was relatively short, the songs were written over three years. The primary theme of the record is the anxiety induced by the rapid changes brought on by coming of age. Mead also contemplates isolation, loss of innocence, and angst associated with maturation.

1) Waiting
2) Grow Up
3) She Had
4) Change
5) Settle For Less
6) Holiday
7) Where I Wanna Be
8) Quiet Room
9) Navy
10) Polite Refusal
11) So Close


North American press:
European press:
Japan press:
College radio:

• Publicity by Force Field PR
• College radio promotion by Terrorbird
• Very special spring North American tour planned
• First act on Company Records that isn’t Chaz Bundick
• Music videos in the works
• Vinyl includes free digital download


LP: 677517300215
CD: 677517300222
Digital: 677517300253

When he was 16-years-old Keath Mead saw The Beatles film A Hard Day’s Night and soon after, he bought his first instrument, a bass guitar. At 17, he helped a neighbor move and was gifted an old Harmony guitar from the garage. In college, Mead’s roommate had a real guitar (not a junker with rusty strings). Mead started to play obsessively and skipped class to do so. That might be Mead’s musical history in a nutshell. The self-taught musician also plays drums and piano. Sunday Dinner is his debut on Company Records, an LP with a throwback sound submerged in the pings and glitches of the information age.

Sunday Dinner was recorded with Chaz Bundick (Toro Y Moi, Les Sins) in Bundick’s Berkely, Calif., home studio. For each track, Mead and Bundick traded instruments and played until they came across arrangements that suited Mead’s songs. The songs on the album stem from years of writing. One of the first songs, “She Had,” was written in 2011. “Settle For Less” was only finished days before the album sessions concluded. The 25-year-old was born and raised in Columbia, S.C., and now lives in Charleston, S.C. Outside the scope of music, his main inspirations are authors. Most notably, Gabriel Garcia Marquez and William Golding.

Additional images: